May 23, 2024
2023 Ballon d'Or

2023 Ballon d'Or

Ballon d’Or is an annual football award presented by a French Football magazine. The men’s most prestigious award started in 1956. And Stanley Mathews was the first player who won the Ballon d’Or.
Lionel Messi and Ronaldo are the footballer who got several Ballon d’Or. And Messi had the highest Ballon d’Or of eight of them.

Journalists vote for players, each can select five players according to their (players) performance. In which they select players over their performance of previous year.

Ballon d’Or votes revealed: How is the winner selected?

France Football has revealed Ballon d’Or votes of 2023. A jury of 100 journalists were presented with a shortlist of 30 players. And the journalists are chosen from FIFA’S ranking, which means a journalist from top nations each gets a vote. They can vote for their own country’s player. Each ranks their top five players as:

● First one gets 6 points
● Second gets 4 points
● Third gets 3 points
● Fourth gets 2 points
● Fifth gets 1 point

whoever gets most of the points wins. In the 2023 Ballon d’Or, the players who got most of the first place by journalists are : Messi-65, Haaland-21, Mbappe -5, Bernardo Silva-1.

Messi won by a big margin ahead of Haaland. He won the Ballon d’Or with 462 points, 105 points ahead of Norway striker Erling Haaland who got 357 points. Kylian Mbappe is in the third position with 270 points.
Some of the journalists votes:
Argentine Enrique “Quique” Wolff ESPN

  1. Messi
  2. Alvarez
  3. Mbappe
  4. E.Martinez
  5. L.Martinez

Portugal Joaquim Rita SIC

  1. Bernardo Silva
  2. Vinicius Jr.
  3. Messi
  4. Haaland
  5. Mbappe

France Vincent Garcia France Football

  1. Haaland
  2. Mbappe
  3. Messi
  4. De Bruyne
  5. Vinicius Jr.

Brazil Cleber Machado SBT

  1. Messi
  2. Haaland
  3. Mbappe
  4. Modric
  5. Rodri

However, Messi didn’t receive any votes from journalists in Cameron, Cape Verde, Guinea, Jordan, Switzerland, and El Salvador.
Journalist Fabrizio Romano released the voting stats from all the voting countries.

Messi And His Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi won the Ballon d’Or for the eighth time in Paris on Monday, October 30. Messi’s award was announced by David Beckham, co-owner of Inter Miami, Messi’s current club. With this he had broken his own record as the maximum Ballon d’Or winner.

And probably this is his last Ballon d’Or of his career. He was 1st awarded with Ballon d’Or in the year of 2009. Now he has 12% of all Ballon d’Or trophies since magazine France Football began awarding the golden ball. Messi is widely considered the greatest player of all time.

Journalists had shown their power as they selected the best player of the season through their valuable votes. And Messi got the highest number of votes as he was pronounced the winner. Though some journalists debated over Messi’s eighth Ballon d’Or award. Still he is the most favorite and deserving as his competitors lay way behind him.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | ChromeNews by AF themes.