May 22, 2024
The Crown

The Crown

The Emmy award-winning series is back with its sixth and final season on Netflix ready to release its last episodes on December 2023.

The Crown is a historical drama television series that portrays the life of Queen Elizabeth II. Produced by Left Bank Pictures and Sony Pictures Television, created and principally written by Peter Morgan. The show will run its final season in two installments, the first four episodes were released on 16 November 2023, and the remaining six are set for 14 December.

New actors portraying young Prince William, played by Rufus Kampa, and a young Kate Middleton, played by Meg Bellamy, are all part of the new cast this season. Actor Fflyn Edwards, who is 14 years old, played the role of Prince Harry at the time of his mother’s death in Season 6, Part 1. The mid-season character played by actor Luther Ford is a little older version of Harry after his mother’s death in season 6, part 2.

What the Royals think of ‘The Crown’

According to sources who spoke with The Telegraph, Prince William is “not expected” to ever watch The Crown or this season. Prince Harry on the other hand has watched parts of it.

In January 2023, Prince Harry while chatting with Late Show host Stephen Colbert, confessed how he facts check the show and what it portrays, “Yes I do, actually,” said Harry, “ which, by the way, another reason why it’s so important that history has it right,”.

Also in February 2021, while on The Late Late Show With James Corden Prince Harry casually remarked on what he thinks of ‘The Crown’. “They don’t pretend to be news, it’s fictional. But it’s loosely based on the truth. Of course it’s not strictly accurate, but loosely,” he said. “It gives you a rough idea about what that lifestyle, what the pressures of putting duty and service above family and everything else, what can come from that. I’m way more comfortable with The Crown than I am seeing the stories written about my family or my wife or myself.”

What the story portrays so far?

The first season covers the period from Elizabeth’s marriage to Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, in 1947 to the disintegration of her sister Princess Margaret’s engagement to Group Captain Peter Townsend in 1955.

The second season covers the Suez Crisis in 1956, the retirement of the Queen’s third Prime Minister Harold Macmillan in 1963, following the Profumo affair political scandal, and the births of the Queen’s two youngest children – Prince Andrew in 1960 and Prince Edward in 1964.

The third season covers the time period between 1964 and 1977, beginning with Harold Wilson’s election as prime minister and ending with the Silver Jubilee of Elizabeth II.

The fourth season covers Charles meeting Lady Diana Spencer while picking up her elder sister Sarah for a date. The Conservative Party wins the general election and Margaret Thatcher becomes the country’s first female prime minister. Elizabeth’s surprise when Thatcher expresses contempt for their gender during their first audience. Prince Charles’ marriage to Lady Diana Spencer.

The fifth season spans the monarchy entering the 1990s. An era when the world witnessed the shocking deterioration of the marriage between Prince Charles and Princess Diana, and covered John Major’s tenure as prime minister.

The sixth season, which will close the series, will cover the Queen’s reign into the 21st century and is set to include the death of Diana and its aftermath, the first meeting of Prince William and Catherine Middleton, and the wedding of Prince Charles and Camilla Parker Bowle

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | ChromeNews by AF themes.